Life As We Know It

I (Dee) am often times labeled as an over-thinker. I think about how people act, what they say, what they do, and why they do things. If you ever have a conservation with me you may not know it but I’m going to review the conversation in my head. Over and over again. Why? I don’t know. I just do. One of the things I love analyzing is gender roles and how they affect who we are. Not for class, just for fun. (Plus, if it was for school I wouldn’t enjoy it). I recently had a conversation with a woman about a woman who slept around. She said “It’s different when men do that. Men will be men. But when females do that, it is disgusting and trashy.” To say, I was bothered by this comment is an understatement. As I sit and think about this comment I wonder how this mindset came about? Do diseases pick whether they affect a male or female and decided to make females the unlucky ones? I doubt it. So why is this acceptable? I have no idea. But this is one of those things I think about.

Leave a Reply

