Anxiety.

The thing that happens when your whole life leads up to one particular point and you feel that you don’t really have what it takes.  I came upon this quote the other day and I just kept thinking about it: “Always remember you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem and smarter than you think.”  I don’t know who “said” it but, it kinda gave me hope -more hope than the encouraging words of my husband, friends and family- that I am capable of success.  There is no need to worry about the results of that important test because there will be other opportunities for me to take that exam again if I don’t/didn’t pass it the first time. 

That day when God gave me peace about pursuing a teaching career, I wasn’t even in college!  My whole life changed at that point because I knew what I was supposed to do.  And then, last year I went to a women’s retreat that my sister was speaking at and someone said to me when I went for special prayer that they saw a calling of social work on my life.  I took this person’s comments to heart because the types of students that I am drawn to are the ones that would be involved in situations that may or may not require a social worker. 

I know what the Lord put me on this earth to do.  It may not be to parent my own children.  It may very well be to show love to the students who sit in the chairs in my classroom.  To show the love of Jesus by loving, accepting and correcting them the way that Jesus did when He was on the earth. 

I was made for this. God gave me plans for a future and hope…  there is no need for any anxiety.

 

sam

Leave a Reply

