I’m a Quitter.

I did it.  I quit Facebook.  I have been thinking about “taking the plunge” for some time now but I’ve finally garnered enough courage to do it.  The funny thing is that I have to call it “courage.”  It makes it seem like I’m some addict or something.  Can a person really be addicted to something as meaningless as FB?  I think so.  I Googled signs of internet addiction and came up with these warning signs from www.helpguide.org:

1.   Losing track of time spent online.                                                                                                                                                                                               

This is totally me.  When I’m on FB, I’m constantly checking to see if people have “liked” my most recent status update or if they’ve commented. 

2.  Having trouble completing tasks at work or home.                                                                                                                                                                            

I’ve often felt that there aren’t enough hours in the day and then I realized how much time I am wasting on FB when I should be completing my homework assignments and projects.  When I looked at that, I realized that God has certainly given us enough hours in the day if we don’t waste them meandering on the internet when we could be producing something fruitful.

3.  Isolation from family and friends.                                                                                                                                                                             

Not so much.

4.  Feeling guilty or defensive about your internet usage.                                                                                                                                                          

Nope.

5. Feeling a sense of euphoria while engaged in internet activities.                                                                                                                            

Definitely not.

Wes has always had an aversion to myspace and Facebook.  He feels that they are the devil.  I used to tell him that he was being ridiculous by likening “social networking” to the devil but… I‘m starting to see his point.  I’ve allowed my usage of FB to get so out of control that when I really need to hunker down and get some work done, I have to have Wes change my password for me so that if- or more like when- I feel the urge to check it while I’m working, I won’t be able to.  Everyone used to laugh about it (my FB problem) but it was really bad and sad (and I guess it was kinda funny). But -to make my comparison complete- what does the Bible say about the devil?  “A thief [the devil] is only there to steal [my time] and kill [my one on one time with Jesus… which did happen] and destroy [my productivity].  I [Jesus] came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed or imagined.”*John 10:10 MSG

And, I did fret about it.  I wondered if I would still be able to keep in contact with my FB friends (since keeping in contact is not my strong suit).  In preparation, I “made it official” by updating my FB status: “I got a little nervous when I contemplated deactivating my FB.  I think it may be time to call it quits.  Message me if you want to stay in contact with me outside of FB.  If not, that’s fine, too.  I’m not kidding, by the time I turn 29, I will no longer have a FB account.” A few people messaged me… like less than 5.

Anyhow, when FB changed their privacy restrictions, Wes was pretty upset about it and suggested that I quit FB then.  But, I’m not a quitter so I stuck with it.  Then, last week, I was bored (when I should’ve been doing some homework) and I was browsing on Netflix.  I can across this documentary/exposé all about Facebook with the most catchy title: “CNBC Originals: The Facebook Obsession.”  After watching this and “calculating the cost,” I decided that it was time for me to go.

So, that’s the story of why in a nutshell.  And, if you’re wondering, I still have yet to complete a Bible Study on pride- although I have a feeling that I’ll have much more time on my hands now…

 

sam

*I added the bracketed, italicized portions to the verse to make it easier to understand the way that I am interpreting this particular verse.*

Leave a Reply

