All or nothing.

I am finding out that the “all or nothing” approach that works so well (usually) in life doesn’t work so well when trying to live a healthy lifestyle.  Sometimes, I am too lazy or I just don’t have time to exercise during the day.  And, when I think about it, it seems like a logical train of thought to say, “well, I don’t have time to wog (walk/jog) the whole route so I won’t go,” or whatever my lame reasoning is for staying sitting on my butt or laying in the bed when I should be up and out doing something that’s good for my body.

Yesterday, I had an epiphany: 15 minutes of exercise is better than 0 minutes; 30 minutes of exercise is better than 15; 60 minutes of exercise is better than 30.  So, why have I been throwing in the towel when I’m too lazy  or too busy to exercise?  Well, mostly because I didn’t value the time if it was only 5 or 10 minutes.  It didn’t seem like it was going to be worth the time to get all harnessed in (yes, I meant to write harnessed) if I was only going to do something for a few minutes. 

Today, I came across this quote by someone who may be famous, Dr. Duncan McDonald:

15 minutes

So, there ya go.

 

sam

Leave a Reply

