Partially victorious.

Today, I didn’t get all dolled up (as if I usually do) but, I looked at myself in the mirror and thought, “She looks good.” That’s when I realized that I was looking at myself in the mirror. I haven’t lost a lot of weight but I am halfway to my goal. What I have done is proven to myself that losing weight is possible without sacrificing much more than a little time and effort. I. Am. Doing. This.


I remembered two nights ago when I was getting ready for bed: cleaning nose piercing and putting on the baby bandaid so I don’t have to spend $40 (again) on nose rings and so I don’t have to look crazy (again) because my nostril is more swollen than it was the day I got it pierced and so I don’t have to subject myself to the pain (again) of re-inserting my almost healed nose piercing into my nose (I do not have a high pain threshold); I moisturized and wrapped up my hair and caught a side glimpse of myself in the mirror. “My butt’s getting smaller!”

So, while I don’t see a beautiful person when I look at myself in the mirror, lately, the woman I see doesn’t depress me either. “I will praise You, [Lord], for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well.” Psalm 139:14

This scripture – my favorite in the whole Bible- also reminds me of a song by David Crowder Band that I didn’t fully understand the meaning of until two Sundays ago when Wes and I were on our way to church.  The chorus of the song goes like this: “You make everything glorious and I am Yours… What does that make me?”  The answer, of course, being glorious!  I’ve sung this song many, many, many times and it takes the process of me being more comfortable in my own skin to realized its meaning.  Crazy.

sam

Leave a Reply

