SheReadsTruth: Colossians, Day 1

I was supposed to start this devotional with SheReadsTruth and I allowed myself to get too busy.  In the busy-ness, I did not make time to read my Bible or make any little bit of time to spend with God.  I realized that I needed to prioritize, making my devotional time and exercise time a routine.  I need them both for survival.  The former for my soul and the latter for my body.  So, in an effort to not be a freaking liar, I am on Day 1 of the Colossians devotional.  I will post my thoughts on the scriptures for the day and the devotional content on this blog for the duration of the study.

Here goes…

Image

Colossians 1:1-2 (NLT):

1This letter is from Paul, chosen by the will of God to be an apostle of Christ Jesus, and from our brother Timothy.
2We are writing to God’s holy people in the city of Colosse, who are faithful brothers and sisters in Christ.
May God our Father give you grace and peace.
My thoughts:
I, Sam, have been sent by God on special assignment by Christ as a part of God’s master plan.
A lot of the time, I feel like I am just floundering along trying to find my bearings.  There are things that I want to do that I can no longer do (i.e. sing and play drums for the worship team) and there are things that I currently am doing that I didn’t plan (and don’t really want to do, i.e. grad school).  I know this is getting old but I’m really not happy about having to go back to school.  I am glad for the opportunity to be able to do it- yes- but, happy?, that would not be the appropriate word for my feelings.  Try ambushed, blindsided, dumbfounded.  Those would be better.
But, thinking about the fact that I am on special assignment kinda eases the burden on my brain (and on my heart) for just a little while.  I trust that God has a plan for me.  I trust that I am following that plan.  That being said, grad school and not being in leadership at my church are also part of God’s plan.  There is no way that I’d be able to juggle it all.  I realize that now.  And, I am thankful for my assignment.
sam
Tomorrow, Day 2.
Leave a Reply

