Six Days In! SheReadsTruth: Colossians, Day 6

Colossians 1: Today’s reading is a recap of what I’ve been reading for the last week.

My thoughts:

This verse seems to be coming back to me as I reread:

3We always pray for you, and we give thanks to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. 4For we have heard of your faith in Christ Jesus and your love for all of God’s people,5which come from your confident hope of what God has reserved for you in heaven. You have had this expectation ever since you first heard the truth of the Good News.

*emphasis mine

I need more love.   I do not act as though I love all of God’s people.  As a matter of fact, people are pretty annoying.  I get on my own freaking nerves half of the time!  But, I can learn to love more if I can remember the Good News: that Jesus came to die for me even though I am in sorry shape. He loves me though I am FAR (very far!) from perfect.  The fact that He still disciplines me shows me that He loves me.  That is so freaking cool.  Unlike fallible humans, His love isn’t contingent upon whether or not we made Him feel loved or lovely.  He just loves us because He IS love.

When I have more love, I will no longer be able to contain the Good News.  Holding it in is like me trying to keep a secret sale at Target all to myself.  I don’t want to do that because I want all of my friends to be able to save money.  I need to feel the same way about sharing Jesus with people instead of being consumed with how I’ll come across.   If I show God’s love ALL of the time, I won’t have to think about how people will perceive me.  It would be undeniable that I love Jesus.

My pastor tweeted a good quote a couple of days ago, “We have to stop yelling at our culture about what they do wrong and love them by being an example of how to live right.”  I think he was talking to me.

 

 

  Image

sam

Tomorrow, day 7.

Leave a Reply

