You are stronger than you think you are… seriously.

Image

Last year, when I started exercising I didn’t have a number goal in mind. I really just wanted to move more. I had to prove to myself that I could do something without quitting. I logged ALL of my food on MyFitnessPal. I let Jillian Micheals torture me with the 30 Day Shred TWICE, challenged myself to wogging (running/walking) 50 miles in 14 days. Did something active for at least 20 minutes aday on most days. I did this without really knowing that intrinsic motivation was the key to my success: proving to myself that I am NOT a quitter (I finally graduated college… after doing it in turtle pace).

The extrinsic motivation came later when my body started to change and the number on the scale started creeping down little by little and my clothes starting fitting strangely (not quite too big but not quite too small). I started having a weekly walking date with my friend, Jenn, and it was her crazy idea to complete a half marathon. We did not complete it but we did complete two 5ks. 

The point of this super long message is to say that if you’re like me and you need small goals to accomplish so that you don’t feel overwhelmed then make your goals small, i.e. I will not eat meat on Mondays for the month of January, I will log every morsel of food (no matter how much crap I eat), I will move each day (even if it’s just for 10 minutes), I will drink my daily allotment of water, I will complete the 30 Day Shred dvd IN 30 DAYS, I will exercise on the treadmill or do circuits for the entire episodes of Parenthood and Biggest Loser each week (no breaks)…

You are stronger than you think you are… seriously.

 

sam

4 thoughts on “You are stronger than you think you are… seriously.

Leave a Reply

