13 achievable goals for 2013.

I know, it’s pretty cliché of me to write a post about accomplishing goals in the wake of a new year.  I don’t really care.  I’m doing it anyway.  I was gonna post 30 goals (since I’ll be 30 in a few months) but that proved to be  a daunting task.  After deliberating with the Nerd Princess, Dee, we decided that 13 goals for 2013 was a pretty solid number (who says something like that???)

So, here goes.  I may need to edit or adapt this list as time passes.  Thanks, Reyna, for the excellent idea…

  1. Run/walk/jog 365 miles this year (this may be pretty easy to do considering goal #2).
  2. Complete the Tucson Half-Marathon (running/jogging the whole way).
  3. Complete no less than 5 different Bible studies in YouVersion (finish SheReadsTruth: Colossians, Debt: A Biblical Exploration, ReThink Life: 40 Day Devotional—that’s three).
  4. Blog once a week (no matter how much or how little I have to say).
  5. Have a completely vegetarian eating day once a week.
  6. Read two books completely for fun (they may be related to work or school but they must be books that I choose completely of my own volition).  I can complete this task by reading before bed each night. 
  7. Log every morsel of food I consume on MyFitnessPal (no matter how crappy I’ve eaten on any given day).
  8. Take the pups, Curious George and Nala, on a walk of no less than one mile twice a week (these miles can be included in the 365 mile yearly goal).
  9. When a person comes to mind, send them a text or email or Facebook message to check on them.  I made this a goal for last year but, well…
  10. Clean out my closet getting rid of all of the shoes and clothes that haven’t worn in recent history (try that trick with the hangers, facing them all in one direction on laundry day and then facing them the opposite way when I put them back in the closet.  The ones that are still facing the original way are “tossed.”)
  11. Stick to my weekly cleaning schedule (no matter how busy I get.  I can think better when the house is clean anyway… no matter how much I try to convince myself otherwise)…rotating days with Wes, of course. 
  12. Make Christmas gifts for at least a third of the people on my Christmas gift giving list.
  13. Not sure for this one… Oh, I got it.  I saw this idea on Pinterest for you to put a note in a jar every day with something good that has happened that day.  I’ve decided to do this project (and Wes is doing it with me).  On December 31, we’ll read through all of the wonderful things that happened in 2013.  I already have the big jar, I just need the follow through.

 

Image

sam

p.s. Not sure to work this in to the 13 but, I also want to train myself to enjoy black coffee (thanks for the nudge, Dee). To accomplish this, I will use less creamer in my coffee and purchase the lighter roasts at the store.

One thought on “13 achievable goals for 2013.

  1. Your goals are really great. I like the one about your clothes. I am so proud of you for continuing your goals about exercise and eating rite

Leave a Reply

