Not impressed.

I’m one of those people who thinks, “If I don’t post it on Insta, Twitter, FB, etc. then it didn’t really happen.”  The “it” is exercise.  I post just about every run on social media.  And every time I practice yoga.  And every time I do ANYTHING fitness related.  It’s just what I do.  I just want everyone to know that I’m exercising.  I do it partially for accountability and partially for the glory…

impress

Yep.  I said that.  For the glory.  I didn’t realize about the glory part until today.  Crazy but it’s true.  I saw a picture on Insta and it strung a chord in my heart.  My friend, Liel, always talks about examining our hearts for our ambitions in life.   Am I exercising to get fit?  Or to look good for Wes?  Or to gain some other external satisfaction?  What is the point of it all?

 

When I first began exercising, it was to prove to myself that I can do whatever I put my mind to.  I can run if I think I can (and if I practice).  I can do yoga if I think I can (and if I really, really, really practice and then practice some more). But it’s not really about whether or not I think I can; it’s more about being empowered by God to get my butt MOVING!  I cannot let my pace or time or distance become an idol in my life.  I can’t let fitness become an idol in my life either (although I’m not quite sure how I’ll know that I’ve put it on an altar).  Like in Jimmy Needham’s song, “Anything I put before my God is an idol/ Anything I want with all my heart is an idol/ Anything I can’t stop thinking of is an idol/ Anything that I give all my love is an idol…”

I don’t want exercise and running and fitness to be an idol in my life.  Because of this, I am no longer going to post my pace for my runs and walks.  Who am I trying to impress?  Who should I be trying to impress?  No one.  I may write my times down if I do something extraordinary that I didn’t think I could do but as a general rule, I will no longer post the pace.  Why?  We are all in a different starting place and a different point in our regimens.  I don’t want my friends comparing themselves to me to make themselves feel worse (or better) about where they are in their fitness life.  Let’s just cheer each other on no matter how fast or slow.  No matter how many miles travelled.

And that’s just what I will do.

sam

One thought on “Not impressed.

Leave a Reply

