Because everyone has a story.

anomaly [uh-nom-uh-lee]- a deviation from the common rule, type, arrangement, or form. Synonyms: abnormality, exception, peculiarity. 

“Anomaly.” Dictionary.com. Dictionary.com, n.d. Web. 05 June 2014.

 

A very clichéd way to begin a work of writing is with a definition.  In my opinion, doing this means one of these things: 1) you have no idea what you really want to say, 2) your piece of writing has a length requirement that you a struggling to meet or, 3) you think your reader is stupid.  As a rule, I NEVER allow my students to begin their essays with definitions. It’s a rule. But I digress…

There is a social media movement going on right beneath our noses. A movement where people tell a snippet of their testimony using the hashtag #anomaly. This hashtag has been seen on such platforms as Instagram (you can find me here and Dee here), Twitter (you can find me here) and even on Facebook. Go ahead, look up the hashtag and be blessed. Well, that is if the sharers did it right.

How can the sharers do “it” wrong? That’s probably what you’re thinking. There’s no way a testimony can be wrong…right? Well, actually, there is. In the Christian world, testimonies are supposed to point the hearer back to God. For example, “This and this and this happened…but God.” The testimony is not supposed to glorify the person giving the testimony; the testimony glorifies the one Who changes everything: God.  So, yes, we can do it wrong.

The Lord has revealed our righteousness.  Come and let us declare in Zion the work of the Lord our God. Jeremiah 51:10 (NKJV)

Come and hear, all you who feared God, and I will declare what He has done for my soul. Psalm 66:16 (NKJV)

And in that day you will say: “Praise the Lord, call upon HIs name; decree His deeds among the peoples, make mention that His name is exalted.  Sing to the Lord, for He has done excellent things; this is known in all the earth…” Isaiah 12: 4, 5 (NKJV)

So, why did I start this post with a definition that seems to have nothing to do with what I’ve written about thus far? Well, I had a little trouble deciding which portion of my testimony to share with the #anomaly movement. Should I talk about being healed from the repercussions of the sickness that nearly cost me my life? Should I talk about my little miracle baby (even though I’m pretty sure you all are tired of hearing about my transformation to #mommymode)? Should I talk about the journey that God is walking me through to become the best possible wife to Wes? What should I talk about?

I looked through the hashtag and was really blown away by so many of the stories.  As of right now, on Instagram, there are 12, 931 postings.  Some are perfect and others are either 1) very self serving (personal ads for people’s startup businesses, radio shows, even for blogs… don’t worry, I didn’t do that.  It would be SO hypocritical!), or 2) they don’t actually talk about something that is an anomaly… (which is kind of the point).  I was slightly annoyed and I talked to Wes about people “doing it wrong” and THAT is the reason that I began this blog entry with a definition.

Here are some of my bloopers and out takes before I decided what to share. I wanted to make sure that my #anomaly story didn’t glorify me instead of God…even if it doesn’t blatantly say that God did it (my readers are smart).  And, yes, I had trouble with the correct spelling of anomaly. Kind of embarrassing.

First, there was the brainstorm:

IMAG0739

Then I had to make a decision as to which one to keep.  But, first, I had to figure out how to spell “anomaly.”

IMAG0740

I finally figured out how to spell “anomaly”…

IMAG0741

but then I decided that I could do a lot better than talking about Valley Fever AND I didn’t want to talk about running because I felt that was self-serving like, “Look at me!  I’m a Black girl who runs!  Did you know that Black girls don’t run?!  I’m so freaking cool!” (I’ll save those posts for Instagram.) … – and isn’t my testimony supposed to be ALL about me? … [that was sarcasm]…

IMAG0742

I’m still not sure why I scratched the previous one but I plowed forth!

IMAG0743

…and forgot how to spell, again.  I need to read more books! And, then I hit the mother load:

IMAG0744

But I decided that I didn’t need to say that part about marriage and interventions… So here’s the story I decided to tell:

IMG_20140604_180337

I think that about sums it up.  I’m still attempting to write the post about how this all came about (here’s a good place to start).  The miracle baby.  The running.  The Valley Fever.   I really don’t know how God does the miraculous things He does.  I just love to hear the stories about His greatness.  #ANOMALY

 

sam

Leave a Reply

