Dear Starbucks.

I’ve been a loyal customer for more years than I can remember.  I was lured to your shops by the caramel frappuccino and I stayed a customer because of the experience, the vibe and… the caramel drizzle. I worked for you for two years while I earned my undergrad degree.  I collect Starbucks mugs (my husband would say that I hoard them).  I may OWN a Starbucks sign (I didn’t procure it illegally).   I talk you guys up on social media sites.  I post the “white girl selfie” on Instagram any opportunity I get.  I defend the quality of your coffee.  I act haughty when people talk about going to other coffee shops.  I feel guilty when I frequent other locally owned shops as if I’m cheating on my first love.

addiction2

But, I’m done.  I’m so over you.  You see, I have a baby now and your establishment is not baby friendly.  How?  You don’t have baby changing stations anywhere.  I have yet find one in any of the Starbucks that I’ve been to… and I’ve been to a lot of them. Yep, your lack of changing tables is what may very well end the good thing we’ve got going.

Since you don’t have the changing tables, there’s no place to change my precious girl’s diapers.  I am, therefore, forced to whip out the changing pad and change her right on the table in your establishment.  When I change her there, in the middle of the coffee shop, I fall victim to lots of side eyes from customers and baristas alike.  But, you’ve forced my hand!

Your establishment that boasts about being people’s “second home.”  Your mission statement reads that you “…value… creating a culture of warmth and belonging, where everyone is welcome.”  Well, I’m here to tell you that I don’t feel welcome.

How can your place be a home if there’s no place to change the baby?  Unless, babies aren’t allowed at your house.  And, I get that.  I used to be the person who grumbled when I was seated next to a family who had a baby at a restaurant.  I didn’t understand why people had “the gall” to take infants to the movie theater.  I was THAT person.  But my vantage point has changed now that I’m a mama.  It’s funny how that happens. I am the person who brings her baby to the movie theater.  Why?  Because I want to go to the movies and I don’t trust anyone to take care of my daughter.  She goes where I go and that’s all there is to it.

It makes me think that possibly you want to be the “second home” only for people who don’t have babies… at least babies who aren’t potty trained.  You know they don’t come out potty trained, right?  Not to be snarky but I just want to make sure that you understand.

So, this is my letter to you letting you know that I won’t be coming by as often.  I may come by every once in a while but don’t expect me to spend tons of money there. I know I don’t wield lots of buying power but I’m gonna let my money talk.  I’ll frequent local coffee shops like Coffee Exchange and Cartel.  Shops that roast local beans.  I’ll invest in my city.  I probably should have been doing this all along anyway.

It’s been real but your “second home” is no longer home to me.

Your not-so-loyal customer,

sam

11 thoughts on “Dear Starbucks.

  1. I can understand how you are upset, I can only imagine it not being a mother myself….
    But can I ask are you from the States? Because all the Starbucks in my area have change tables in the bathroom… But I am in Canada?

    • Yes. Here in the U. S. Apparently, Starbucks does a lot of things different in the U. S. than it does in other places. Take the Pumpkin Spice Latte for example.

      You’re lucky!

  2. Hear hear! And all those public places that have changing tables in the women’s bathrooms but not the men’s? Fires me up!

    • Yes! To no end! Every time we go to a new place and Wes uses the restroom I ask if they have changing tables. It’s so weird that places only have them in the women’s restrooms. I know men change baby’s diapers!!! I guess they have to do the changing mat on a table scenario, too. 😕

Leave a Reply

