Marie Kondo ruined my life.

I got rid of them.  I got rid of all of my clothing.  Well, almost all of my clothing.  You must be thinking that I’ve lost my mind.  I assure you that I haven’t. Even though when the purging of my clothes brought me to tears- yes… really- I certainly thought that I’d gone a little “batty.”

Remember when I talked about wanting to sew my clothes this year?  Well, Wes is really supportive of me using my gift of creativity in this way.  We are using Dave Ramsey’s method for paying down our debt so we budget for everything.  We budget in our personal spending money.  We budget for gasoline.  We budget for clothing. We budget for household items such as shaving cream, dish soap, toilet paper, etc.  We ear mark every cent that we make so that we can meet our goal of becoming debt free.  Sewing my own clothes (and clothes for Laila Grace and, eventually, shirts for Wes) will cost money in the beginning because I need to purchase the patterns and the fabric and the needles.  Side note: Did you know that you need to replace your sewing machine needle after each project or every eight sewing hours?   That adds up to A LOT of needles!  Anyway, Wes has said that we will reimburse me spending my personal money on fabric and notions by giving me money (reimbursement) for each clothing item sewn.  Which would add up to about the amount that we would end up spending on the clothing anyway ($15 for each shirt, $5 for baby pants, etc.)  I like this because it means that I won’t need to spend my Starbucks money on clothing and fabric…well, not all of my own personal money.  I should use my blow money for my hobbies (just as Wes uses his blow money for his hobbies) but there is definitely some overlap with my newest hobby…

As a part of completing my goal,  I joined a group dedicated to sewing your own capsule wardrobe.  It’s based on Un-fancy’s method.  The difference is that it’s a sewing group and sewing a huge wardrobe isn’t very practical if a person wants to actually have the opportunity to wear the clothes that s/he makes (and not be sitting behind their sewing machine for the rest of their life).  So, Becca of a blog called FreeNotion has made the process a little more “do-able” for us sewists.

  •  We determine our body type (I’m a spoon who can use tips from the hourglass body shape).
  • We purge our closets (this is where Marie Kondo a.k.a. KonMari comes into play).
  • We figure out our color palette (I’m “vibrance” and “lovely”).Color-Palettes
  • We determine what looks best on our body type and develop our style. <- I’m at this step now.
  • We shop for patterns (I’m pretty stoked for this).
  • We shop for fabrics (I’m stoked for this part, too).
  • And (FINALLY) we sew!!!!!!!

So, why or how did KonMari ruin my life?  I was holding onto the clothes that I needed to let go of.  I needed to purge my clothes!!! I couldn’t figure out what my style was.  I couldn’t really concentrate on the task of creating my wardrobe because I had too. much. crap.

I made it my weekend goal to purge.  I got myself all amped up.  When I put the baby down for her nap on Saturday I got down to business.  I brought all of my clothes into the living room (because KonMari states that you need to “tidy by category and not by room”).  It was reminiscent of that scene from Miracle on 34th Street (the BEST movie EVER!) when the post office workers bring bags and bags and bags of letters into the courtroom:

Wes was amused.

IMG_7650.jpg

What I didn’t expect was that I would get emotional.  Going through all my clothes was making me sad.  Someone from the Capsule Wardrobe Sew Along group recommended this article to help me with my purge.  Basically, I needed to pretty much get rid of all of my clothes.  Someone else suggested that I just keep the clothes that were already in the dirty clothes because that’s pretty much what I wear all of the time anyway.  And, she was right.

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 7.34.43 AM

I was literally having a melt down.  But, with Wes’ help, I pulled myself together.

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 7.35.59 AM

IMG_7652

This is what I had left after the purge.

I couldn’t do the page the KonMari way because I got wayyyyy too emotional and nostalgic and…sad.  It just really made me sad.

But this is what my closet looks like now:IMG_7653

Wes is blown away…

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 7.50.13 AM

So, that’s how Marie Kondo ruined my life.  Nothing is safe!  My drawers are SO tidy!

IMG_7655

I even have an empty drawer!!! Before the purge, my clothes spilled out everywhere.  Not anymore. And, last night, before I sat down to watch Downton Abbey, I purged my bags/purses, jackets and shoes.  It think I’ll be able to store my fabric in the closet where I used house a TON of jackets.  This is good because, now, my sewing space (which is also the baby’s “room”) is always messy since everything doesn’t have a place.

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 7.42.11 AM

12592423_170542379983157_1204683125778275648_n

Pattern used: P4P’s Slim Fit Raglan.

So, anyway, Marie Kondo has ruined my life.  I am grateful.

 

sam

 

p.s. If you’re interested in purging your crap the KonMari way, here are some good resources:

If you’re interested in purchasing the pattern I used for my Slim Fit Raglan, you can purchase it HERE.

You can purchase the fabric I used HERE (and when you make your first purchase AND sign up for an account, I’ll earn rewards!).

16 thoughts on “Marie Kondo ruined my life.

  1. I seriously need a closet purge, but I think it will take a lot longer than one nap time. We moved while I was pregnant, so I chose not to get rid of any clothes since I didn’t know what would fit later. But my body changed and my clothing needs changed, so I don’t really wear the old stuff any more. I need it to just go away! Would you recommend reading the Marie Kondo book?

    • To be honest, I don’t recommend the book. It’s too long and filled with LOTS of fluff (an English teacher’s nightmare, right?!). But I do like the principles…Just Google her methods. 🙊 I linked some good ones at the bottom of this post.

      I think her newest book may be worth the read but I can vouch for that (as in still waiting for my turn in the library hold rotation).

  2. You have done so much better than me. I hate getting rid of clothes. So much! It makes me so sad. Especially when I have things in there I will not fit or wear again.

  3. Sounds like a good plan! I did a wardrobe purge last spring and it felt really good. Almost a year later, I have not sewn (or replaced) enough where I feel like my wardrobe is functional but at least I’m not filling it back up with clothes that will be purged one day. 🙂

    • That’s a start! And if you’re content with what you’ve got there’s no need to add to it.

  4. Pingback: [Sunday Lately. Week 58.] | Dos Natural Sistas

  5. Pingback: #WardrobeInAWeek? | Dos Natural Sistas

  6. Pingback: Dive into Dolmans. Hey June Handmade: Aurora Tee. | Dos Natural Sistas

  7. Pingback: [sewing.] Mama and me.  | Dos Natural Sistas

Leave a Reply

