Life lessons from my one year old.

Without getting too mushy- which is almost impossible when I start talking about my baby girl- I have been thinking about how fun it is having Elle around.  She is a joy.  She makes life fun.  Her hugs can bring me to tears and when she says, “mama” I melt.  I am so glad that she chose me to be her mama.  

She has taught me a lot of things in her very short life.  I wanted to take a little time to list a few of the things that I’ve learned from my very awesome kid.

IMG_9893

  1.  Wear the fancy dress/outfit/shirt!  Even when you have “nowhere” to go.
  2. Stop and smell the flowers.  All of them.  Take your time.
  3. Take risks.
  4. There is joy to be found amongst the seemingly mundane.
  5. Get your booty outside. Daily.
  6. Take every chance you can to cuddle.  If there isn’t a chance, then take matters into your own hands.
  7. Books are best devoured while sitting in (very, very) close proximity with the ones you love.
  8. Laugh.  A lot.
  9. Smile and say “hi” to people.
  10. Hold on to the stuff you want but don’t be afraid to let go when it’s time.
  11. Drink TONS of water.
  12. Eat when you’re hungry and stop eating when you’re full.
  13. Be as helpful as possible whenever possible.
  14. Focus fully on whatever you are doing while you’re doing it.
  15. Don’t be afraid to ask for what you want.

 

What sorts of things have you learned from your kids?  I’d love to hear about it in the comments.

sam

Leave a Reply

